ISL 2020, Bengaluru FC vs Hyderabad FC Live Score: Chhetri starts for BFC, Adil Khan benched for HFC

Welcome to Sportstar’s ISL blog of the match between Bengaluru FC and Hyderbad FC at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa on Saturday.


5′ SHOT! BFC’s Ashique Kuruniyan tries his luck from some way out but his effort is blocked and it goes into the hands of the Hyderabad keeper Subrata Paul.

2′ Hyderabad has started this game well. It has created two half chances already. However, we all know what Bengaluru can do on the counter.


7:25 PM: The players are out!

7:10 PM: The seventh edition of the Indian Super League (ISL), reinforced with the long-awaited introduction of Kolkata clubs Mohun Bagan (now ATK-Mohun Bagan) and East Bengal, will be held in a world like no other — not a world of dreams, but a dystopian nightmare. (READ OUR MAGAZINE COVER STORY)

6:50 PM: The teams are completing their final training drills ahead of the game.

Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri ahead of his side’s outing against Hyderabad FC at the Fatorda Stadium on Saturday.   –  ISL/SPORTZPICS


6:30 PM: The team line-ups are out!

BENGALURU XI: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (GK), Juan Antonio Gonzalez Fernandez, Erik Endel Paartalu, Kristian Fardal Opseth, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Sunil Chhetri (C), Udanta Singh Kumam, Muhammed Ashique Kuruniyan, Cleiton Augusto Oliveira Silva, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Francisco Javier Gonzalez Munoz.

HYDERABAD XI: Subrata Paul (GK), Chinglensana Singh Konsham, Lluis Sastre, Joel Joseph Chianese, Joao Victor de Albuquerque Bruno, Aridane Jesus Santana Cabrera (C), Odei Onaindia Zabala, Halicharan Narzary, Nikhil Poojary, Akash Mishra, Asish Rai.

6:10 PM: Hyderabad FC will feature a new line-up of foreign players in the 2020-21 Indian Super League. Aridane Santana, one of the star performers for Odisha FC last season, joined the club alongside fellow Spaniards Odei Onaindia, Fran Sandaza and Llius Sastre. Here’s a look at the overseas players in Mumbai City FC’s squad for ISL 2020-21. (FULL STORY)

6:00 PM: It’s been a whirlwind start to the ISL season with matches coming in one day after another. If you happened to miss the action from the first gameweek, our reporters have reviewed the first five matches in our ‘Full Time Show’ podcast.


5:50 PM: Since Hyderabad FC debuted last season, the two have only have faced each other twice during the league stage. Hyderabad, in terms of wins during the regular season, is second from the bottom in the history of the competition with 3 victories from 19 matches at a success rate of 15.78 per cent. On the other hand, Bengaluru FC, which is featuring in the ISL for the fourth time, is fifth in the list with 36 wins from 63 matches at a success rate of 57.14 per cent. (READ MORE)

5:35 PM: Former champion Bengaluru FC has managed to retain some of its star players for the seventh season of the Indian Super league, with the likes of Erik Paartalu, Dimas Delgado and Juanan extending their stay, while adding the likes of Brazilian Cleiton Silva and Spain defender Fran Gonzalez. (FULL STORY)

5:20 PM: Bengaluru FC will be eying its first win of the season when it takes on Hyderabad FC in the Indian Super League at the Fatorda Stadium in Margao on Saturday. Here’s how the two teams could line-up. (PREDICTED XI – READ MORE)

Follow Sportstar’s full coverage (Latest news, Interviews, Features, Points table, Quiz, Videos) of ISL 2020-21 here. Click here

ISL 2020-21 points table

A big preview for the biggest season yet. Our reporters have their say on whether Bengaluru FC and Hyderabad FC are among their picks for the ISL title. Listen to our ‘Full Time Show’ Podcast for the 2020-21 season.


Bengaluru FC (BFC) will look to put behind the disappointment of not emerging with full points from the opener against FC Goa when it takes on Hyderabad FC at the Fatorda Stadium on Saturday.

Having led by two goals at the hour mark, BFC allowed last year’s league topper to score twice in three minutes, and ultimately had to settle for a solitary point.

“At 2-0, we were close to a win and had some chances to make the scoreline bigger,” said BFC coach Carles Cuadrat on match eve. “[But] some players were not ready for 90 minutes and we had to make substitutions. We also have to consider that the opponent was good and had a top team.”

ISL 2020-21: Fowler assures improvement after SC East Bengal’s defeat against ATK Mohun Bagan

“But our team is working well. In a very short period of [preparation] time, we have achieved some targets. We could have lost the game by becoming negative. But players like Dimas Delgado came on and it helped. We calmed down and almost put Goa in trouble again. Now, we have had one more week of training which is good for the players’ physical conditioning. So the mood is positive,” Cuadrat added.

Hyderabad, however, will be no pushover. It had just two wins last season and hadn’t kept a single clean sheet. But against Odisha FC on Monday, it appeared to have shed a lot of the baggage. Aridane Santana’s lone penalty decided the tie but Hyderabad created a host of chances and was solid at the back.

Forward Liston Colaco impressed after coming on as a substitute and may be rewarded with a place in the first eleven. In defence, the trio of goalkeeper Subrata Paul and centre-backs Joao Victor and Odei Onaindia kept Odisha at bay.

ISL 2020-21: Manvir Singh becomes ATK Mohun Bagan’s first Indian goal-scorer

“The first win brought a lot of confidence,” said Hyderabad coach Manolo Marquez ahead of the match. “We played a good game and for me, every game is hard. Till now, out of the seven games, there have been five with just one goal difference and two draws. It is very difficult to win the games with a comfortable margin.”

“If we want to win we have to give a very good performance. Maybe it’s better to play [strong] teams in the beginning but BFC is a dangerous opponent and very good on the counter. If we lose the ball in the centre, BFC will be very dangerous,” Marquez added.


BENGALURU FC: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lara Sharma, Dipesh Chauhan, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Juanan, Rahul Bheke, Fran Gonzalez, Harmanjot Khabra, Ajith Kumar, Joe Zoherliana, Biswa Darjee, Namgyal Bhutia, Parag Srivas, Pratik Chaudhari, Wungngayam Muirang, Dimas Delgado, Erik Paartalu, Suresh Wangjam, Thoi Singh, Ajay Chhetri, Naorem Roshan Singh, Emanuel Lalchhanchhuaha, Amay Morajkar, Sunil Chhetri, Kristian Opseth, Cleiton Silva, Ashique Kuruniyan, Deshorn Brown, Udanta Singh, Edmund Lalrindika, Leon Augustin, Semboi Haokip

HYDERABAD FC: Subrata Paul, Laxmikant Kattimani, Manas Dubey, Lalbiakhlua Jongte, Chinglensana Singh, Odei Onaindia, Dimple Bhagat, Nikhil Prabhu, Sahil Panwar, Akash Mishra, Kynsailang Khongsit, Asish Rai, Adil Khan, Halicharan Narzary, Joao Victor, Laldanmawia Ralte, Lluis Sastre, Hitesh Sharma, Abhishek Halder, Sahil Tavora, Mark Zothanpuia, Mohamed Yasir, Nikhil Poojary, Souvik Chakrabarti, Sweden Fernandes, Aridane Santana, Fran Sandaza, Joel Chianese, Liston Colaco, Ishan Dey, Lalawmpuia, Rohit Danu

ISL 2020 will be televised live at 7.30 pm IST on Star Sports and live streamed on Disney+Hotstar

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *