India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI LIVE Score: Prithvi Shaw falls, Virat Kohli walks in

Good morning! Hello and welcome to Sportstar‘s live coverage of the first ODI between India and New Zealand. We will be taking you through all the action as it unfurls at the Seddon Park in Hamilton.


India 50/1, 8 overs Colin de Grandhomme is introduced to the attack and he makes the breakthrough! Off the last ball of the over, he edges a turning delivery to Latham for an easy catch.

India 46/0, 7 overs Two good overs for India, from Bennett and Southee. First, Agarwal finds the fine leg fence and then Shaw pulls a losse delivery away to the square leg for his boudnary. And Agarwal then welcomes Southee into the attack with a lucky boudnary past third slip. The next one is smashed over point, one bounce and four more runs on the board.

India 26/0, 5 overs Shaw picks up back-to-back boundaries off Bennett, flicking the ball through mid-wicket and then a square drive. Much needed confidence bosst for the youngster. Southee returns to the attack, finds some movement on the pitch and packs the off-side — which includes three at slip. Agarwal respods with a wonderful cover drive to pick up his second boundary of the day.

India 11/0, 3 overs And the first boundary of the match comes off Agarwal’s bat. Outswinging delivery from Southee and Mayank drilled it past mid-off for four runs.

India 6/0, 2 overs Hamish Bennett’s opening over sees both batsmen put runs on the board. Shaw and Agarwal try to find the ropes on the longer side but the outfield is slow and both are forced to settle for a double. Also, there’s nothing special to write home about this pitch. Slight movement, at best.

India 0/0, 1 over A maiden over from Southee to begin this match. Shaw understandably deals with every ball cautiously.

India 0/0, 0.1 over Short of length outside off delivery and Shaw punches it to cover.

Right, we are ready to go. Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw are out in the middle getting their last-minute stretches while surveying the field. Tim Southee to open New Zealand’s attack.

Out come the players from both teams for the national anthems, the Indian anthem first up followed by New Zealand’s.

Pitch report: V. V. S. Laxman with the pitch report today and he says: “It looks like a beautiful batting surface. There is no grass cover at all, very dry. Batting first, India will look to pile on a big total that they can defend later.”

TOSS: Tom Latham makes the right call and wins the toss. India, with debutants Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal, will be batting first.



India: Virat Kohli (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (wk), Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini.

New Zealand: Tom Latham (capt and wk), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Blundell, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Mark Chapman.



Injuries to key players has opened the door for exciting youngsters such as Prithvi Shaw to make an impression in the Indian line-up against a low-on-confidence and depleted New Zealand in the three-match ODI series starting here on Wednesday.

This is India’s third ODI assignment after the World Cup last year, having previously beaten West Indies (away) and Australia (at home).

The Black Caps, on the other hand, play their first ODI since that infamous loss at Lord’s in the World Cup final against England.

READ | Shaw, Agarwal set to make ODI debuts in opening roles

The last time these two sides met in the 50-over format, New Zealand had knocked India out of the World Cup with an 18-run win over two days in the second semifinal at Manchester.

India extracted revenge with a 5-0 T20 whitewash that concluded on Sunday.

In the current context, stakes aren’t that high as both sides prepare for the T20 World Cup later in Australia this year. In fact, the upcoming two-Test series later this month bears more significance than this ODI clash.

In the ODI series, neither side will be at full strength as a string of first-team players will be missing due to injuries.

India was dealt a major blow when Rohit Sharma was ruled out of the remainder of this tour owing to the calf injury he picked up in the final T20I. The Men in Blue are already missing Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will miss the first two ODIs due to an injury.   –  Getty Images


For New Zealand, inspirational skipper Kane Williamson has joined the long list of injured along with the likes of Trent Boult.

Mayank Agarwal was named as Rohit’s replacement for the ODI series on Tuesday afternoon. And skipper Virat Kohli outlined that they will stick to the strategy adopted against Australia in Rajkot, where KL Rahul kept wickets and batted at number five.

Shaw and Agarwal (R) featured for India in the A tour of New Zealand.   –  GETTY IMAGES


Kohli had more or less confirmed Shaw’s ODI debut in that scenario, and now India will probably have two openers debuting.

The last time such a situation arose was 2016, when K. L. Rahul and Karun Nair opened for India on their debuts in Zimbabwe.

Sunil Gavaskar and Sudhir Naik (1974) against England and Parthasarthy Sharma and Dilip Vengsarkar (1976) against New Zealand are the other previous instances.

Such a move would set up India’s batting line-up with Kohli at number three and Shreyas Iyer at number four.

In the nets on Tuesday, Manish Pandey batted along with Kohli and Iyer, ahead of Shivam Dube, Rishabh Pant and Kedar Jadhav.

If Pandey plays, the lower order will be a curious mix with Dube, Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja vying for the all-rounder’s spot.

In the bowling department, three pacers will probably be the norm once again.

Kuldeep Yadav, who sat out the entire T20I series, is slated for a comeback given his performance against Australia at home.

New Zealand will have some re-think before finalising its playing eleven too.

Tom Latham will lead the side ahead of Tim Southee who was stand-in skipper during the last two T20Is. In Williamson’s absence, they will look towards Ross Taylor for batting leadership.

The Black Caps will be rejuvenated though with the inclusion of all-rounder Jimmy Neesham while Colin de Grandhomme returns to the squad as well. Ish Sodhi is only there for the first ODI and the host could opt for a two-spinner attack given the slower surface at Seddon Park.

Keeper-batsman Tom Blundell and lanky pacer Kyle Jamieson are the only ones who don’t have an ODI cap to their name.

Where to watch?

The match will be telecast live on the Star Sports Network. The match will be live-streamed on Hotstar, as well.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *